2 Weeks Until the Texas Bar Exam

Running short on time…  There’s probably nothing much to add this week except more of the same.   For anyone who is a SpongeBob Squarepants aficionado what is going on now, and clear through this upcoming week, is akin to “Squilliam Returns” (Season 3, Episode Six).  I wish I could’ve found a video illustration to link to this blog, but alas, I couldn’t find one quick and so decided to just link to a Wiki on it.

In short, SB is supposed to learn all there is about fine dining (long story, see episode for detail) and to make room in his head for all he has to learn, he has to dump what’s already in there:

Squidward tells SpongeBob to clear his mind of “everything that doesn’t have to do with fine dining and breathing.”  SpongeBob’s mind  is metaphorically portrayed as an office operated by little SpongeBobs.  The boss tells them to dump everything that doesn’t have to do with fine dining and breathing until further notice. They begin shredding all the documents, which represent SpongeBob’s knowledge, until SpongeBob just stares into empty space and doesn’t respond to anything.

Then it happens:  Someone asks SB…his name!

However, SpongeBob cannot remember his name, having discarded it along with everything else, and inside his mind, all of the little SpongeBobs are trying to find his name, which ultimately results in his brain snapping in half.

THIS is my brain on the bar exam; it is snapping in half!!  Truly I have found that in the last several weeks it has become hard to do simple things that I used to do well like, spell.  Suddenly I can’t remember how to spell “success” (are there two c’s???) but ask me to spell res ipsa loquitur, respondeat superior or res gestae and my response is, “Backwards or forwards?”  So bizarre!

Today, I spent three hours at school taking a simulated half-day essay exam and I felt pretty good coming out of that.  For some reason, studying last week I was starting to hit panic mode about the essays.  I feel good about the MPT and the P&E, the MBE is the beast that just eats everyone’s lunch on Day 2, but when I thought about what work I’d done on the essay section I didn’t feel like I’d done enough.

I did about 15 Barbri essays and submitted them for grading even though we were only required to do maybe 3-4 total.  The rest were optional and I did all but two on the list.  I may still do those last two this coming week just to say I did them all.  I was nervous going into this practice exam because I didn’t feel like I had enough law in my head to write an essay for these subjects, some of which I didn’t even take in law school.  Presently, I haven’t gotten my graded essays back from our advisor at school, so I’m feeling good about my work.  But, let’s see what the graders think….

My practice tests on the MBE are just all over the place.  I have good days in nearly all the subjects and bad days in the same subjects.  I have yet to get them to all converge at one time so I’m hoping that that convergence will happen a week from this coming Wednesday when I need all the stars and planets aligned in my favor.

I miss being at home and seeing my family, but I am noticing that my internal stress level has gone way down since coming up here and getting to focus on just this without any worry about anyone or anything.  My study partner and I have been at the SMU law library the last two days and will be there the rest of the week and it’s been great.  I forgot how much I missed being in an academic library.  I love the smell of musty books and the utter silence.  I appreciate that people don’t take cell phone calls and when they talk, which is not often, they…whisper.  It is the simple things that mean the most to me at this most stressful time.  I have also discovered that this craziness is pretty “normal” for those studying for the bar exam.  Whew!  Makes me feel better.

I’m losing track of time and what day it is, but I missed going to church today which is not a common thing for me.  As soon as I finish this blog, the last thing I plan to do before getting some hard-earned sleep is watch the online video of this morning’s service to complete my Sunday.

In life outside of the bar exam:  A job was posted last week in which I am interested.  I applied and hopefully will hear back on that soon.

This upcoming week is it; I have to finish strong and prepare myself mentally and physically to perform the way I know I can on this bar exam.  I have been in training the last four years and especially this entire summer for what will transpire next week.  Let’s go, last week of bar prep, give me all you got!

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on July 15, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

