Juries Galore

As my last semester of law school is winding down there seems to be more and more to do.  I am going to have to work some extra hours this month to make the 180 hours I need for my Criminal Prosecution Clinic, but that’s fine.  I’ve asked, and my supervising DA has agreed to look for, anything and everything I can do that might give me an opportunity to “speak” in court or in a proceeding.  It’s been difficult to get much court time, because so many cases plea out.  I’d heard that before, but after being at the DA’s for nearly a whole semester, I’ve seen it first hand.

Anyway, I presented twelve more cases to the Grand Jury last Thursday, but didn’t get to stick around for the results because I had to dash out to class.  I think they were pretty straight forward cases:  thefts, drug possession, forgery, fraud and prostitution.  Sigh.  While many may plea out, the cases to prosecute never run out.  I’ll find out Tuesday how we did.

Meanwhile:  tomorrow I have been summoned to report for JURY DUTY at Austin Municipal Court.  I think it’s pretty funny that they would call me at this juncture in my life.   I was originally called to report on a Wednesday and told them that I was out of town on Wednesdays, so they moved me to a day when I am in town.  Thanks for that!

I pretty much know that I’m driving downtown for nothing.  I can’t see a Defense attorney taking me for a case.  Prosecution would likely be fine with me on their jury, so if I were them, I’d make Defense use one of its challenges.  Of course, they make these decisions based on the information they get about you on a questionaire, not on who you are.  Jury picking happens rather rapidly, so I’m thinking alot of the decisions they make are based on balancing risk and gut feelings.  Which man or woman would be “worse” on the jury based on the information you know and anything you can get out of them in voir dire—that’s the game.

Simply based on what I do, where I’ve worked and ahem, where I’m working NOW, my guess is that a Defense attorney would want no part of me on their jury.  But maybe I’ll be wrong.

The plan for tomorrow is to get up early, go by Starbuck’s, and get ahead of the traffic going downtown.  I’ve scoped out the parking situation via Google Maps and I know exactly where I’m going.

I plan to dress professionally, but not like a (future) lawyer.  I’m kinda bummed that I’ll have to go through the regular line, get my stuff x-rayed and have to take off my shoes.  It sure has been great to just breeze into the Tarrant County Courthouse with my DA badge.  Membership has it’s perks!

We’ll see what tomorrow has in store for me…

 

 

 

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on April 8, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

