Crim Prosecution Clinic in the Blogs

So I know I keep talking about the “Criminal Prosecution Clinic” that I’m doing through the law school and in conjunction with the Tarrant County Criminal District Attorney’s Office, but it is by far the best experience I’ve had in all of my wonderful time at Texas Wesleyan School of Law.  I am so lucky to have had the opportunity to be on this team of just seven students.  Daily we are working with many of the best and brightest attorneys in the north Texas, if not in the whole state of Texas.  In my opinion, what makes the clinic experience so valuable is the opportunity we get to watch other  attorneys do what they do; this is really the only way to learn the art of lawyering.

Our class was recently visited by the DA’s Public Information Officer who subsequently gave our clinic a bit of a “shout out”  on the Tarrant County DA’s website.  The blog entry gives a little more background on our clinic, what we’ve done, where we’ve gone and the prosecutors with whom we work.  The blog includes a pic of us at our class this last Wednesday where we learned about voir dire and picking a jury.  There are way more layers and complexities to that than I ever expected.

I’ m really proud to be associated with this team; I think we’re pretty awesome and I know the work done by the Tarrant DAs is top-notch. Every day that I’m there I learn something new and have the opportunity to see how true professionals handle the day-to-day of practicing criminal law.  It is truly fascinating.

While there is no doubt in my mind that I could not fully appreciate what I’m seeing and doing now without a fundamental understanding of the basics I learned at the beginning of law school (Read:  Do well in 1L year Crim Law and Procedure), I have to say:  It is GOOD to be a 3L.  The lessons I’m learning and experiences I’m having in this clinic are  invaluable to those of us nearing the end of our time in law school.  This is where it’s at!

While they have not yet pushed us fully out of the nest, through Tex Wes Law and the Tarrant County DA’s office, we’re sure getting a chance to stretch our legal wings and get our feet wet!

My student bar car is burning a hole in my pocket…

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on February 26, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

