Groan! ONE Last Assignment I Forgot!

Ok…so I lied.  Not really and not intentionally.  I keep forgetting that I have one more assignment to complete before my semester is over for real.  I had my final assignment in Criminal Law Practicum–a trial notebook, that was due the day after my dad passed away and I still haven’t done it.  I called our Dean of Students and he called my professor that very day and I was given an indefinite extension.  Big mistake.  I promptly forgot all about it and then after the funeral when final exams started, this project just wasn’t on the radar.

It hit me last week sometime that if I don’t write myself a note and/or put it in my planner I might just forget all about it.  After my Evidence exam last Thursday my mind just wants to go on auto-pilot for a few weeks and I’m having to fight that feeling.  That and the feeling that I need a nap…like often…and maybe even right now….zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Hours later: 

Um, yeah…sorry to snooze off for real in the middle of blogging.  Guess I was really tired. So, where was I?  Right!  The trial notebook.  It’s not like it’s  a big deal, I have it all electronically and I just have to organize it, burn it to CDs and mail it to my professor.  He even said, “Take your time,” and I have.  But I know this has to get done and soon.  I just don’t like it hanging over my head.

(BTW:  If you don’t know what a trial notebook is, it is what you make it.  But basically, it’s a way to organize your case when you take it to trial.  It typically is divided into sections like: Main File, Pre-Trial Proceedings, Witness Files, etc.  and then you put all the materials you use in prepping the case or working the case in the notebook so that in trial you have all your materials at hand and organized so you can find anything you need quickly.  You should have all the indictments, offense reports, any kind of relevant evidence, copies of your motions and those of the opposing side, legal research on the case issues, proposed jury charges, opening/closing statements…everything for taking the case from beginning to end. We did many of these drafting projects as individual assignments throughout the semester, so I’m just really putting the notebook together and organizing it with materials I prepared earlier. )

The problem is that I’ve messed up my sleep pattern so much throughout the semester I’m paying for it now.  You can only burn the candle at both ends for so long.  It’s a lesson learned though.  I cannot have this chronic lethargy when it’s time for bar prep.  This new year I have to work on a better sleep pattern by maximizing my day hours and going to sleep by 10 or 11 at the latest.  That’s gonna be difficult because I’m a night owl and enjoy staying up to work when all’s quiet and nobody bothers me.

Well, the good thing is that as I’m getting back into this trial notebook I’m finding that I’d done a good deal of work on it already, so finishing is not going to take too long.  (I hope!)  It’s not so bad now that I’m sitting here, it was getting to this point that was hard.   You know how when you write a research/term paper and you practically live with that thing for weeks or months until it’s done.  Once you turn it in you don’t want to look at it again. Ever.  When you get it back you check the grade, smile or groan and go on.  NOBODY ever wants to go back over it and analyze or fix the mistakes.  By that time, they are so over it.  Well, I was so over this class just because we didn’t have a final and I missed the last class on top of that.  Makes it doubly hard to pick it up again.   But pick it up I have.

Sigh.  Speaking of, I should get back to it.  Once I drop this assignment in the mail I will be completely free.  Tomorrow I’m back to work at UT.  I wonder what’s in store for me there?   More to blog about, I’m sure!

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on December 11, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I found your internet site through Google. We cant believe We haven’t been the following before. Nice content.

Leave a Reply

