My Last Fall Semester

Well, it is done.  My second-to-last semester of law school is finished.

The Evidence exam this morning was all I thought it was going to be…all the fretting for the last two weeks–totally warranted.  The last two nights I didn’t sleep well as my mind kept racing and churning through these concepts endlessly:  hearsay, original writing, privileges, offered for the truth of the matter asserted…on and on and on.  The devil is in the details as far as Evidence goes and there are LOTS of details . I won’t even venture to guess how I did.  1) I finished, 2) I didn’t leave anything blank (well it was all multiple choice, but I didn’t find any that just stumped me.),  and 3) I didn’t have a melt down (which thankfully, I’ve only had one time in a law school exam).  As long as I feel “nothing” I’m alright with that.  I think that law school exams (and the bar exam from what I hear) are supposed to leave you clueless.  I’d be worried about feeling like I aced any exam (OMgosh…if I feel that confident I must’ve missed a ton of issues!!!) or the feeling of utter doom (see melt down above).  Nope…feeling nothing is where it’s at.

After the exam I turned in my library books (more practice Evidence questions) and just wandered around the halls a bit aimlessly.  I found a couple of my friends, we exchanged hugs and Merry Christmases and then I went by Admissions to say so long to my friends there.   More hugs.  It’s weird having  no law school to do for any amount of time.  (It must be rather bizarre after you complete the bar exam too…like you step off a cliff and fall into nothingness.)  You spend months just hurtling through time and space trying to get a million things done in a small window of time–you go and Go and GO and just before you are about to pass out from the g-forces……<POOF!!> it’s the end of the semester.  What now?

I have three whole weeks off [from school] but actually, I’m starting work at the UT System on Monday.  They are so awesome…who hires someone for three weeks?!?  Am I lucky or what?  I love that place and all my friends and colleagues there.

As usual, my non-law school “To Do” list is already lengthy.  Tomorrow I start baking for my son’s high school fundraiser on Saturday and in the evening all of us are meeting up with friends to visit Main Street Bethlehem in Burnet, TX.  Sunday is the Christmas celebration at our church and Tuesday is a Band Booster meeting.  Whew!

I had planned to start writing letters and sending out my  resume to get started on finding an after law school job, but now that I have at least an interim job waiting for me at UT once I take the bar, I can put off my letter writing campaign until after the bar.  What I will do is send out Christmas cards and just keep in touch with all my contacts and professional friends.  Luckily, I am a pretty outgoing person because networking and people skills are such a HUGE part of law school.  I love meeting new people, so that’s not been a problem for me, but I do have friends that hate the social aspect of law school.  Yeah, in this tight economy it’s going to be really hard, I think, to find a job if you don’t network, meet people and let them see that you’re a cool person to be around.  Just my opinion.

Today was a bonanza for mail:  I got two scholarship letters.  One was a YAY!  The other was an “oh well!”  AND…I got a letter from the Board of Law Examiners (“BLE”).  I apparently did all the paperwork right and they were writing to confirm that they have my information and asked ME to confirm the spelling of my name as I wanted it to appear on my bar license.  WOW….

Mixed bag of mail...scholarships, bar exam and Christmas cards.

I also finally got the low down on what I get for the $50 I paid for permission to use my lap top on the bar exam.  Basically, I get to spend an additional $107 for the software to use on my lap top.  Nifty, huh?

Lastly, I got my first look at the testing schedule: dates of the exam, what’s tested on what day, what score I need, etc.  This bar exam thing is getting pretty real.  I’ll still need to wait for my official confirmation letter from the BLE though, the one that gives me the “thumbs up” about all my background check etc.  Until you get that magical letter you aren’t  officially invited to the party in July.

Signs of the season…got my first Christmas cards in the mail as well.  Farewell, final Law School Fall semester.  Sigh…I need a vaycay!

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on December 9, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

