Limping Through Law School Finals

Well, two down and one more to go….  Law school finals are pretty rough.  A necessary evil, but still, rough.  Just got out of my second of three finals this go-round:  Sports Law.  I know what you’re thinking…”Sports law?!?! You’re kidding, what a joke!”  Not really.  It was actually a really good class and the final exam was basically doing an anti-trust analysis along with some employment law “just cause” termination analysis.  Two essays in two hours.  Sigh.  I’m tired.

My saving grace today in the library studying for Sports Law final.

I had to break down and buy a Monster today otherwise I wouldn’t have made it to my 6:30 pm exam.  I discovered this new flavor and it was pretty good.  I got it around 1:30 pm and it kicked me into gear for a good chunk of time.  Right around 5:45 pm though…I started to get tired all over again.  Note to self:  Drink this closer to exam time!  Or buy two.

Tomorrow begins my final study day for the big one:  EVIDENCE.  Our exam is going to be 4 hours–120 multiple choice questions.  I’ve been studying for days and am not any more encouraged today than I was when I started prepping for finals.  Well, maybe a bit more encouraged, but not much.  Now that I’m one semester away from graduating I think I have enough “law” under my belt to say with certainty that along with Constitutional Law and Property (1st semester…future interests, bleh!!) Evidence is one of the most difficult subjects in law school.  Interesting, but difficult.  I really want to learn this subject and I’ve put in much time and effort.  Problem is, sometimes that’s just not enough.  Anyway, I’ve got one more day of studying and plan to do more, More and MORE study questions tomorrow as a last ditch effort to figure out how this subject ticks.  Wish me luck!

In other news:  Last week I applied to the 2012 American Bar Association Judicial Internship Program through our Career Services Office and was selected to represent Texas Wesleyan School of Law!  The conference is an opportunity for law students interested in judicial clerkships to meet and network with judicial clerks and sitting judges.  I’ll be going to N’awlins, Louisiana in early February and meeting judges sitting on the 5th Circuit Court of Appeals.  I got an email over the weekend with the proposed agenda and it’s jam-packed with all kinds of exciting events.  I also found out the other person from my school who’ll be going as well.  I was pleasantly surprised to find out it was one of my friends, a 1L that read my law school blogs before coming to Tex Wes.  We’ve gotten to be good friends since she came here.  Cool!  The whole event will be even more fun with a friend.

Tonight was my youngest son’s Christmas band concert and for the second year in a row I’ve had to miss it due to finals.  Sigh.  One day soon I’ll be done with law school and won’t have to miss these memorable events anymore.  I’m sorry, son.  It kills me to have to be here and not there with you.  Forgive me.  Know that no matter where I am you and your brother are my life.  I love you guys!  Mom’s working hard to make you proud!

I’ve got one more final to work through and then I can get into the Christmas spirit for real!

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on December 6, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. good post, added you to my RSS reader.

  2. Hey, thanks LR. I think it’s going to be fantastic and for sure I will blog all about it. My last semester in law school promises to be really great. BTW, checked out your blog and it’s a great read. 🙂

  3. The ABA judicial internship program sounds pretty interesting. Congrats on getting it and I hope you will describe your experiences in detail. Have fun there! 🙂

Leave a Reply

