Blessing Revealed

My closest friends and I have often reflected on my law school journey.  There is no disputing that it  has been a time of stress, anxiety, excitement, adventure and constant change.  But too, we marvel at the fact that my path, for all its twists and turns, has been custom-made for me in a way that would not work for many others.

Looking back over these last 3.5 years I cannot imagine how all the pieces fell into place, but yet I know that they did.  Before I even thought about law school, I met people that I needed to meet, made friendships that I needed to make, and built bridges that I needed to build.  I had no idea that later on all of these connections would tie together and build for me a safety net that has yet to ever fail.  That’s God.

Along with all the legal lessons I’ve learned as a law student I have more than anything learned a lot about me and about faith.  I’ve learned that when I think I can’t do any more, there is still more I can do.  I’ve learned that patience, although one of my most challenging hurdles, is essential to fully receiving and appreciating God’s blessings. It’s not about me, but about Him.  Whatever plan I can devise to reach my goal, God’s is always infinitely better.  I need to remember that.

Illustration:  As I get closer to graduating my thoughts have shifted to what happens afterward.  I know that I will be busy through the end of July, but once the bar exam is over you’re left in post-graduate limbo.  Yes, you’ve got the J.D., but you’re not licensed to practice–few places will hire you in that interim.  The prospect of getting a job is daunting enough for those not in limbo and for those with only themselves to worry about, but takes on a heightened urgency when, like me, you have a family to help support.  By the time I’m done, the family will have been waiting over 4 years for a return on its investment in me and in law school.  No pressure.

Ashbel Smith Hall, U. T. System complex, Austin, TX

I have been so blessed that I have been gainfully employed every semester break and every summer break during all of law school.  Never once did I have to take an unpaid job and it’s these jobs that have kept my family afloat between financial aid disbursements.  This December is no different.  I am returning once again to work at the University of Texas System.  Moreover, I inquired about working there after the bar exam while waiting for my results.  They have agreed to hire me during that time as well.  I am overwhelmed with gratitude and thankfulness.  I freely admit that a good deal of tears fell as I read the email.

It occurred to me that for as much as I seek to protect my children from stress and worry in their lives, God continues to do the same for me.  Even though He wants me to fully trust His plan for my life every single day, He realizes that I am merely human: I worry, I stress, I waver.  In His infinite wisdom He knows just when to reveal a corner of His plan to me so that I glimpse into my future and am assured that He is in control.  I love that.

I am wonderfully and uniquely blessed.

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on November 30, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the Article, its my third time visiting your blog and must say it is very interesting hope to check back soon.

  2. Thank you very much! I appreciate the positive feedback. All the best to you!

  3. I absolutely adore your blog! I found this post to be very enlightening.

  4. very informative post! Thank you for sharing that with us.

Leave a Reply

