Things You’re Unlikely to Hear from Your Law School Dean

I came back to school yesterday after being away for almost a week.  It feels odd to have disconnected from law school so suddenly and so completely.  I get this feeling between semesters and over the summer, but in the middle of the semester (or in this case, right before finals) it’s strange.  Funny thing is, I didn’t even think about school for the few days I was down helping my mom with dad’s arrangements. I took my wheelie bag and had all my books, but I just sat there on the couch looking at them from across the room.  Instead, I played solitaire.  I needed that.

I’ve had so many emails,FB messages, text messages, and phone calls from friends wanting to check on me or offer their condolences. I knew I had friends, but I guess I didn’t realize how many.  Thanks to all of you for caring about me and for those that shared with me a cherished memory of my dad.  I have kept these in my heart and they bring me comfort.  He was a good man and lots of people know that.

Of  course, as this is the first day of finals prep week the question of what will I do about my finals has come up.  The first is next Monday.  I got an email from one of our Deans late on Sunday.  He said he was checking on me, wanted me to know that they are there for me and that they care.

In my reply email I told him that I’d all but decided to go ahead with finals as scheduled.  Thinking about pushing the first one back just puts me on top of the following two.  I nearly break out in hives thinking about these looming exams sticking around and looming longer than necessary.  My shoulders will need to be pried out of my ears if they get any more tense!  I thanked the Dean and in closing confessed that I think ending up at Texas Wesleyan Law was definitely a “God thing.”

Initially, I thought I wanted to go to ABC law school (shall remain nameless) and door after door got slammed in my face.  It became clear that ABC was not the place for me.  During my time at Texas Wesleyan it has been made more than clear to me that THIS is the place I was supposed to be.

Today, his reply: “And we definitely love you more than ABC would have.  That’s for sure.  : )  Seriously, I’m thrilled you’re one of ours.”  Brought tears to my eyes.

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on November 22, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hello, – stumbled upon your current website due to pure luck when looking around the net this morning, and delighted that i did! I like the page structure and colors

  2. Thanks LegalTrenches for the share. I like your style of writing. I certainly will come back later on. Have a good day!

Leave a Reply

