Time is NOT My Friend

ORIGINALLY POSTED 3/23/11–You know it’s gonna be a long day when:  Breakfast consists of bagel crisps, peanut butter, coffee AND a 16 oz. energy drink, neither of which ever kick in. Having two drafting classes is really starting to wear on me; all I do is draft…all weekend, every weekend.  Tuesday nights are brutal because I have to finish my Estate drafting in time to print at home before driving back to Ft. Worth the next morning.  I typically don’t get to sleep before 1:30 a.m. and then I’m up by 4:30 a.m. to start all over again.  I guess I can do that for a while, but as the semester progresses, it’s getting rough.  Today was bad—it’s after 7 p.m. and I’m still at school.

I’m convinced that the time change messes me up for at least a week.  It got the best of me yesterday when I was reminded that I never adjusted my Dallas alarm clock.  I got up and while getting ready for class I looked at my cell phone and realized my mistake.  Even if I wanted to…er, I mean…even though I wanted to make it to my 8:30 class, there was no way.   But, the misfortune did provide a tangible reminder of why I love Texas Wesleyan Law.  By the time I got to school and checked my email a classmate had sent me her notes from the class I missed that morning.  This speaks volumes about the kind of students we have here; people really care about each other and that’s just awesome.  Thanks a million, Kate!

There’s a rumor that last week was Spring Break, but I didn’t see it.  I completed 41 pro bono hours at the City of Austin and rediscovered how exhausting it is to have a full-time job.  Somebody also forgot to tell the professors about the break because there was no rest from the onslaught of drafting and reading.

As a treat, I’ll be in San Antonio this weekend attending the Mexican-American Bar Association Law Student Conference.  I’ve applied for one of their scholarships, so wish me luck!

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on November 12, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

