The Research Paper that Would NOT Die & How I Won the Case

ORIGINALLY POSTED 1/12/11–I’m convinced that just setting foot inside the building for the Winter Term immediately transformed me into a work magnet.

Well, my rigorous writing paper refused to go quietly into the night.  Last week, I got an email from Prof. Ayres that my paper was one page short of the ABA requirements for rigorous writing credit.  I already knew this since oh, about 4 hours after the deadline for submitting our papers when out of nowhere my brain sounded the alarm, “We’re one page short!!! You numbered the cover sheet!!! Horrors!!!” I chuckled to myself, no way—this is just a joke from my brain still swimming in adrenaline, but nevertheless I checked the final draft on my PC. (Insert expletive here!)–my subconscious brain was in fact correct. Although Prof. Ayres’s email didn’t surprise me, I was pleasantly surprised that she let me write another page in order to get the credit; I just assumed it was too late. Over the weekend I was back at it. Finally, it’s over. Again.

My Deposition Skills Workshop was, in a word: Awesome. This was my first oral advocacy class and I totally had a Perry Mason moment. In my class of sixteen I was nearly last to question the witness on the first few days. It was a breach of contract claim but the “contract” was unsigned by either party and only had the defendant’s business card photocopied on it. As all the “good” questions got asked it became more difficult for me to think of a new angle. Finally: “Mr. Jackson, are you illiterate?” (Snickers from the jury box.) Then I asked whether he knew how to write, whether he’d ever been a party to a contract, what his customary “signature” looked like, and whether he EVER used a business card in lieu of his signature. Just about then (in my head) the Boston Legal theme started playing! After class, I did get some pats on the back for thinking to question the signature. It just came to me:  Invalid contract = no breach. Case closed. What a rush!

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on November 12, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

