The Making of a Trial Lawyer?

ORIGINALLY POSTED 2/23/11–Things happen really quickly in law school. So, if I’ve learned anything it’s that my time is already taken—I’m just waiting to find out by whom!

Take today, for example…while my two law school besties (Megan and Jonathan) are on Day 2 of the bar exam, I received an impromptu invitation to a Tarrant County Trial Lawyer Association luncheon.

This semester I started blogging for plaintiff’s attorney, Randy Moore.  He shares space with several other personal injury attorneys so I get to see all kinds of cases, clients and lawyer styles. Today, two of the attorneys were going to the luncheon and invited me along.  They are intent on turning me into a trial lawyer, and I have to admit, what I’ve seen so far makes for some exciting work.

We went to Joe T’s and along with a nice lunch there was an interesting presentation that focused on jury interviews. I learned that at the end of a trial the attorneys often ask jurors to critique their court performance. These candid comments really help the attorneys identify what they did well and what they need to improve—from a jurors’ perspective. I’m sure it’s quite humbling for trial lawyers, who generally have a reputation for dramatic flair, to go through such a process, but it helps them to hone their trial skills and get better each time. I have to admire the dedication I saw in that room.

As an added perk I ran into Judge John Chupp of the 141st District Court at the luncheon and approached him about coming to speak at a meeting for one of my student organizations.  So the moral of this story is:  Always dress for success because you never know where you might go and who you might meet while there!

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on November 12, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

