Spring Wrap-up

ORIGINALLY POSTED 5/11/11–Since my last blog, I’ve attended a Civil Service Appeal Hearing with my boss, Randy Moore, and he won the appeal. I’ve had two finals (my last one is tomorrow), and the results of the February bar exam came out.

This semester, my exams were spread from the beginning to the end of our 2-week finals period. At least I had plenty of time in between exams to catch my breath. Last semester, I had finals three days in a row, so I’m not complaining. No predictions, as usual…I take it as a good sign that I didn’t freak out, so we’ll see. I will say that it pays to study professors’ old exams if they have any on file. My study partner and I did just that and there were at least four questions verbatim from the old exam. Score!

Bar results were encouraging. February bar exams have a reputation for brutality; I don’t know why, but I’ve heard that rumor enough that I believe it. So, even though I could graduate this December I have chosen to stretch my final year of law school through to May. This time next year it will be my turn to take on the Texas Bar.

Meanwhile, this is my last blog for the semester and I want to thank my family for hanging on for another year. Thanks also to my law school friends for making me laugh and for being my second family every day. Congratulations to those that recently passed the bar and lots of luck and love to all of you taking it in July. A special shout out to the person that found my watch in the library last week and turned it in; I got it back yesterday and that made my day. Its people like you that make Texas Wesleyan Law such a special place.

Hugs and much gratitude to all the Texas Wesleyan Law administration for all you do for us students every day. I attended an Admitted Students Reception last night and am encouraged by the awesome crop of 1Ls that will be here in the fall. I am so grateful that I have the opportunity to work with you as an Ambassador for Texas Wesleyan Law. I love this place and I love you guys! Happy summer!

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on November 12, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

