So Begins the Final Chapter

ORIGINALLY POSTED 8/17/11–My 3L (4L as a part-timer) year has arrived!  Several times my breath has caught in my throat when I reflect on this milestone. I’ve promised myself that I will continue to work hard (no “senioritis” for me) and that I will focus on being a law student one last year to fully absorb this most wonderful experience before moving on.

On Saturday I hosted a table at 1L Orientation and met many of our incoming students. I continue to be amazed at what a great job our Admissions Office does in finding our new 1Ls. I had such a great time and was humbled by how many students told me they read my blogs before coming here. I met people with whom I’d emailed and others who told me my words inspired them to take a chance on law school. Several times I found myself blinking back tears. When I look back at the path that brought me to Texas Wesleyan it is undeniable that God had/has a plan for me. How could I have known? The truth is I don’t need to know because stumbling upon people that I inadvertently touched with my story is affirmation that everything happens for a reason. The vast majority of the new students that come here already feel like family…family I didn’t even know I had. So welcome to our Law School my new friends and future lawyers. Enjoy your time at Texas Wesleyan because too soon it will be time to move on.

About half of my summer to-do list got done. I didn’t get to my bar application, but I did do my 3L bar card application. So far, I think it’s going to be a great semester. I’m taking Evidence, Criminal Law Practicum, Consumer Law and Sports Law. The Universe welcomed me back on Monday: I got here at almost 11 am and found ONE last spot in the closest parking lot—first space, first row. It was kismet!!  Yep, I walked into school with a smile on my face ready for a new year.  Let’s roll!

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on November 12, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

