Potpourri

ORIGINALLY POSTED 4/6/11–This blog is a collection of randomness and things that make you go, “Hmmmm….”

Writing deadlines are hitting hard now and many of us are functioning on very little sleep. Literally, this place could be the movie set for “Zombieland.” I’m running a little low, but it will get worse this weekend because my Litigation Drafting Major Motion (yes, all capital letters because it’s that big of a deal) is due next Tuesday. I will have it done by Sunday if it kills me.

Last night my youngest son showed me some advanced math problems he’s doing in 6th grade. I looked and my blood ran cold:  Logic Games. Yup, those horrific LSAT questions that turn most prospective law students’ brains into oatmeal. I proceeded to tell him about the LSAT and its Logic Games torture chamber. For fun, I printed a few sample questions for him. He went off and about 20 minutes later was back having completed all 6 questions correctly. I sat there with my mouth agape. We then had a serious conversation about his future. Law school, he says, is his plan “B”…he wants to be a professional athlete. That’s fine…I’ll wait. When he realizes that his brilliant legal mind is a terrible thing to waste, I’ll be there with law school applications in hand. Bwahahahaha!

Monday I registered for fall classes and easily got everything I wanted based on seniority. Looks like I’ll have 12 hours for the fall which leaves only 7 for the spring. Amazing. I have to stop and savor that….

Yesterday my Toyota Yaris hit 100K miles thanks to my treks to/from law school. I just need my car to hang on for one more year and then I’ll put her out to pasture. I’m such a dork, I had to pull off the highway when the odometer turned so I could take a picture for posterity! That will be on FB soon.

Last but not least, thanks to the Mexican-American Bar Association of Texas for presenting me with a scholarship last week. I was pleasantly surprised and remain very grateful.

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on November 12, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

