Nightmares

ORIGINALLY POSTED 4/27/11–Reading the letter I felt my head spin…all D’s and one F?!? And to make it worse the grades were all written in bright red…staring at me, laughing. How did this happen?

It’s started…I had my first grade nightmare last night. I was so grateful to wake up this morning and find that I still have time to study for my finals and it was nothing more than an anxiety-induced nightmare.   I don’t recall having these kinds of nightmares before though. I’ve gone to sleep only to find my mind continues figuring out one legal fact pattern after another long after I’ve put my books away for the night, but never have I had dreams of grades. That’s kind of unnerving.

Maybe it has to do with this week being the last week of classes and finally getting some detail about exam formats from my professors. One exam is mostly multiple-choice and the other is all multiple-choice.  Both professors said the exam should not take the full three hours. Hmmm, I don’t know how I feel about that. I’ve historically done well with multiple choice exams, but what kind of monster questions are these guys going to think up to separate the herd?  That has me kind of worried and probably why I am quietly freaking out in my sleep.

This was my last week working at the law firm. I have to thank my boss, Randy Moore and all the friends I made at the office for such a great semester. I’ll still be blogging for Randy over the summer, but I’ll miss seeing him, Teresa and Kim every week. Also thanks to Coby Wooten, a Texas Wesleyan Law alum, for encouraging me to get my 3rd year bar card so we can try some cases together.

As our last hurrah, Randy and I are going to a Civil Service Appeal Hearing tomorrow in Grand Prairie.  I’m anxious to see him in action. After spending all semester hanging around with these trial lawyers, litigation is starting to intrigue me more every day. So many choices….

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on November 12, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

