New Semester; New Challenges

ORIGINALLY POSTED 1/26/11–I’m still a bit frazzled with my new semester schedule and haven’t even finished updating my calendar with all my upcoming events. Although I’m still part-time, I’m taking 5 classes and wow, there’s so much work to do. I’m also putting in 20 hours a week at two different jobs which is going to take some getting used to.

This semester I’m taking two drafting classes and have writing assignments due pretty much every week. So far we’ve started slow in Litigation Drafting and have prepared only a short memo and a demand letter, but I’m sure it will get harder as we go. We also turn in weekly time sheets and track the hours we spend on our “client’s” case. It’s these types of practical skills that I hope will put me ahead of the learning curve once law school is a distant memory.

I’m really enjoying my Estate Administration Practicum and even purchased the suggested notebook of drafting materials. I was giddy just going through the contents including a nifty CD of forms. My friend Lyndsay (a fellow blogger) and I were laughing and agree that we feel like such nerds getting excited over probate forms! I’m also taking Texas Pre-Trial and Marital Property which are both tested on the bar exam.

For me, there’s always one class each semester about which I’m really excited and this time it’s State and Local Government Law. I know I want to be a government lawyer.  I’ve worked for so many different government entities in my professional life and spending last summer immersed in municipal law just reaffirmed where my heart belongs. Working in government law I’ve always found that some of the best and brightest are there, many of whom have been wonderful mentors to me over the years.  Obviously, Wednesday afternoon is the highlight of my week getting my next dose of Government Law.

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on November 12, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

