My Own Blog…For Real

Blogging.  Seems it’s become a major part of my life in the last three years.  This will by my third web blog, so the question arises:  What could I possibly say here that I don’t already say in the other two web blogs.  Well, the truth….not much….but maybe, a lot.

The other blogs, while mine, are not really all mine.  First, the blog that is most mine is the one I’ve created in conjunction with the Admissions Office at Texas Wesleyan School of Law. That blog chronicles the last three, now into my fourth, year of law school as a part-time student.   I think, in an effort to get Legal Trenches up and running, I will just move all my posts from that blog to this one–that way any and all background needed to follow future posts will (hopefully) be there. This blog will offer more content however, because I’ll not be limited in word length and will have the opportunity to post whenever the mood strikes.  Removing these limitations, I think, will make for a more interesting read.  But, I could be wrong.  Maybe I’ll be the only one reading Legal Trenches and if so, it will at least prove cathartic for me to get my thoughts out if only for self-reflection.  If you’re interested in what happened to get me to this point, read back from this post to get caught up.  All posts from here forward are current and new.

The second blog actually came as a result of the first one.  Early this year I responded to an ad posted by a local Fort Worth, Texas attorney looking for someone to build and maintain a blog for his personal injury firm.  He hired me on the spot.  Since then I’ve been his ghost-writer and authored blog posts on topics relevant to his practice areas and in which he has an interest. It’s been a very educational experience for me as well learning about areas of the law about which I had no previous knowledge.  All of the posts are approved by the attorney and to look at the site, you’d not know I had anything to do with it.  But it’s me.  Admittedly, as I’ve taken on more roles in the office the updates to this blog sometimes get behind, but the goal is always to keep this going, at least for the foreseeable future.

In a nutshell, this is my blogging resume, if you will.  My hope is that some of the insights I have to offer will appeal to people considering law school or currently in law school–in particular, those like me that decided to explore this path later in life.  My one word of advice is this:  It’s never too late.

Lastly, as I finish up my final year of law school I hope to transition this blog into the world of being a baby lawyer with a family.  I’m sure there will be highs and lows as I move out of academia and back into the “real world.”  That’s the road map…let’s see where it goes.

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on November 12, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks so much! I appreciate it. 🙂

  2. Hey i just visited your site for the first time and i really liked it, i bookmarked it and will be back

Leave a Reply

