Life is What Happens While Law School Doesn’t Stop

ORIGINALLY POSTED 10/19/11–I’ve not said much about my family so far this semester because too much has been going on with school. For the most part, things at home have been the normal crazy that I’m used to. This week is different…

My mom just called to tell me that my dad’s been in the hospital since he collapsed on Sunday. He got airlifted to San Antonio and after two days there and many tests they still don’t know what happened. My mom’s cell phone died, so she hadn’t called me until today when they finally got back home. For now, dad’s doing alright, but we’ll have to watch him closely for a while.

I also learned today that I have some issues to work through with my son’s orthodontist. Because of my time up in Ft. Worth I’ve been unable to be there for most of his appointments and now there’s some question about the treatment that we can’t seem to iron out over the phone. It looks like I will have to skip Thursday’s class so I can be in Austin and meet in person. Sigh….it’s so hard to juggle all these normal family appointments with such a cram-packed law school schedule AND my physical distance from home. This is when I would love to say, “Beam me up, Scotty!” and instantly get from point A to point B.

Most upsetting though is that a very close friend of mine, one that I love very much, tried to commit suicide last week. I can’t tell you how so very sad that makes me. Luckily, he didn’t go through with it. We spoke tonight and it was such a feeling of joy to hear his voice and to tell him that I love him. I plan to spend lots of time with my friend so that he never feels that alone again. There are so many beautiful things in this world, so much opportunity and good to be had—nothing and no one is worth taking your own life. I want to dedicate this post to my friend and his second chance.

If you or someone you know is in crisis and thinking of suicide, please reach out for help before it’s too late. Call the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 1-800-273-TALK. God bless.

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on November 12, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

