Jobs Aplenty!

ORIGINALLY POSTED 3/9/11–What did I tell you? God is in control! I knew my summer would solidify and shortly after submitting my last blog I got an email from the office manager at the University of Texas System. One of the attorneys that replaced me when I came to law school will be leaving soon and they are in a pinch. Rather than call in a temp that they’d have to train, they invited me to come back for the summer. I’ll be doing my old job of responding to open record requests and drafting requests for opinion to the Texas Attorney General. And the best part is I’ll get paid like a real employee again! Of course, I accepted on the spot.

I’m excited about going back and yes, doing my old job.  I loved doing open records and writing winning legal briefs to the Attorney General.   This was my area, my niche and it’s been a while since I felt that kind of confidence in the humbling halls of Texas Wesleyan Law. As this is my last law school summer, it’s time to start looking for a real job. I’m hoping to go back to the University eventually, so the fact that they sought me out for this position is very encouraging.

In fact, many summer opportunities were just over the horizon: I also spoke with the City of Austin last week and they wanted me back too. I explained about the University, but then offered to do some pro bono work for them during spring break. Turns out, they would love to have me back and so next week I should be able to knock out all my required pro bono hours! That’s one more check off my “To Do” before graduation list.

As far as classes, I’m learning so much in my drafting sections. I suspect that this is because I spend hours upon hours preparing documents each week. It’s quite a challenge to keep up, but very useful and practical information. I’m getting a steady stream of A’s on my work and that’s really good to see.

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on November 12, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

