Finals and Mistletoe

ORIGINALLY POSTED 12/15/10–Every year I promise myself that THIS December I’ll be better organized, I’ll prioritize, I’ll learn to say ‘no’ when time just won’t permit one more thing to be done. Yeah, well…there’s always next year.

The last two weeks of my semester brought me to new heights of exhaustion, but it was mercifully short-lived and I finished my finals within the first week. I’ve returned to work at UT System as I have the last two Decembers and things have settled into somewhat of a routine except for the additional errands associated with the Christmas holidays.  Did I mention that my oldest son has a birthday right in the middle of all this and my youngest son has his birthday in early January?  So there are holidays and birthdays galore at my house which just adds to the chaos and keeps me running at fever pitch.  Hmmm, sounds really similar to the tempo I keep during the semester.

Interview bidding for the upcoming Public Interest Job Fair begins today.  This is where I found my very cool summer internship last year.  This year, however, the pickings look to be really slim. I was kind of bummed out about how many employers are looking for volunteers.  I’ve yet to figure out how one is supposed to transition from barely making it on a student budget to having a zero budget for an entire summer.  I’m not sure this is very feasible for many students in particular those like me that have lots of work experience and a family to support.  Depending on how this plays out, there’s always the option to take classes during the summer which I’ve been able to avoid so far.  I guess I just have to trust that God is in control and things will work out the way they are supposed to. I’m going to apply for a handful of interviews and see where it goes.  I do have to say I was incredibly lucky to get such a well-paying gig at the City of Austin last summer and I am so happy that I had that wonderful opportunity.

I missed December graduation, but for a good reason.  I was selected to win an award from the Dallas Law Charities and so last weekend I was in Dallas to attend the award presentation at their annual Christmas Ball.  It was a wonderful evening in a downtown Dallas hotel and I had the opportunity to meet many distinguished members of the local medical, legal and law enforcement communities.  I want to especially thank Clarabeth and Juan Hernandez of Hernandez Law and all the sponsors of the Dallas Law Charities for their generous support of Texas law students.

Lastly, as I close out 2010 with this final blog I want to say farewell and good luck to all of my friends that just graduated and will be taking the February bar.  I pray that you will have clarity of mind and unwavering focus in the next several weeks as you begin your bar prep.  Megan and Jonathan, I love you guys!!

To all my friends, family and the faculty and staff at Texas Wesleyan Law (who have themselves become my friends and family) thank you for another wonderful year.  Thank you for making me a better person for having known you.  Your lessons have not fallen on deaf ears.  I wish you peace and love for 2011.  Merry Christmas all!!

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on November 12, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

