2011 Mike Eidson Scholarship Winner

ORIGINALLY POSTED 7/27/11 (Additional comments added on 11/12/11) –NYC went by so fast, but my mom and I had a wonderful time and saw lots of the City.  As a bonus, Derek Jeter got his 3000thhit the weekend we were there. Awesome!

NYC billboard celebrating Jeter's 3000th career hit.

Our main event at the AAJ Convention was a Sunday morning brunch hosted by the Women Trial Lawyers Caucus. I met many talented female trial lawyers who took time to chat and personally encourage me in my law school journey. Just at my table of eight there were three U.S. Congresswomen with whom I had breakfast! At the breakfast I received the Women Trial Lawyers Caucus Mike Eidson Scholarship for $5000.  This is an annual scholarship that the Caucus gives away to one female law student in the country.

I was speechless when I got the call and just honored beyond belief to be selected, especially because when I first considered applying for the scholarship I thought I didn’t qualify.  The award is for a female law student who aspires to be a trial attorney and has taken affirmative steps to reach that goal.  In my mind, that meant you should have joined mock trial or moot court.  Because of my crazy commuting schedule and the fact that these two organizations practice countless hours outside of class, I just couldn’t make it work.

I blew off applying for the scholarship and weeks later had a dream that told me not only that I should apply and what I should say in my essay, but assured me that I would win.  The dream literally walked me through an examination of what I’d done in and out of law school and how these things were relevant to becoming a trial lawyer. I woke up with a plan, but unsure if I’d missed the deadline.  Turns out I had just over a week to complete my application, which I did.  The rest is history.

Receiving the 2011 Mike Eidson Scholarship

I can’t tell you how many successful and prominent people walked up to me at the brunch and commented about how my essay just impacted them.  I was asked specific questions about my submittal such that I knew they had read my application with interest and admiration.  I was repeatedly told that my application was by far the best they received. Wow.  I want to especially thank Marianne LeBlanc and the Women Trial Lawyers Caucus for an unforgettable experience.

Meanwhile, I have to shelve my future lawyer dreams temporarily and focus on completing my legal education. Even though the new semester is still three weeks away, I have a major test coming up. Next Friday I will take the MPRE (Multistate Professional Responsibility Exam) which is the ethics portion of my State Bar exam; a passing score is required to practice in Texas. Seeing as many of my friends are taking the BIG bar exam this very week, the MPRE seems tame by comparison.  Nevertheless, it is a challenge I must conquer before taking my own bar exam next July, so it’s kind of a big deal.

I’ll be in Fort Worth this weekend to take an MPRE review class at school, so my Saturday is pretty much toast. That’s ok; my friend Lyndsay (another blogger) will be there, so we’re in this together. Wish us luck!

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on November 12, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

