Where the Heck Am I?!?

ORIGINALLY POSTED 11/17/10–With three weeks left in my semester I’m shifting into fire-fighter mode: My “to do” list is prioritized daily by what fire threatens to burn down my whole law school life. It sounds a bit dramatic, but really I think most of us are running on pure adrenaline from now through finals.

Case in point: Today I walked into Criminal Procedure and for the first time saw that my friend Marcus was in my class. I had no idea he was there all semester. Then, plugging in my laptop I looked at the guy to my right and wondered why he was sitting in Sam’s seat.  Then it hit me…what day is it, Tuesday? Ugh!! Crim Pro’s on Monday! I had to re-pack my stuff, exchange my books and race to Secured Transactions.

After class I offered Megan a ride to her car so we walked to the far parking lot. Once there I realized that I had no idea where I parked. It took me a minute to remember that I was in the other lot. As we trudged back someone’s car alarm went off and I about jumped out of my skin. Megan and I shared a nervous giggle. Yup, it’s finals time—my nerves are shot and I’m so focused on work that I am on auto-pilot. Geez, it’s a wonder I made it to school with my shoes on!

So my Law & Literature presentation is done and now I’m back to the paper which is due next Monday. Honestly my rough draft was so rough I’m surprised Prof. Ayres didn’t cut her fingers picking it up. She gave it back already and offered some really useful comments that I definitely plan on using.

Update on the school rezoning: We WON!!! After review the school board decided that it didn’t need to open the new school for at least another year, so they left the neighborhoods alone. Although a temporary fix, score one for the little guys!! I suddenly have the urge to sing, “We Are the Champions.” All for now, back to work!

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on November 8, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

