That Old Law School Adage…

ORIGINALLY POSTED 8/25/10–Have you ever heard the saying that as a 1L they scare you to death, 2L they work you to death and 3L they bore you to death? If I ever forget that I’m on an atypical graduation plan as a part-time student, THIS is going to be the semester that brings it home. Although last year was technically my second year of law school, we part-time students are on four-year plans. Thus, all my hours to date actually put me at 2.5L this semester.  All this to say: even though it’s only week two I’m definitely feeling the swell of work that was promised by the aforementioned adage.

Also, I took leadership positions in several student organizations and now have to make good on those commitments. The beginning of a new semester is generally crazy, but now all these student orgs want to schedule events, recruit new members and actively serve the school and community. I’m thinking this is going to be one really crazy year.  Note to self:  Don’t over-extend next year!

So far this semester has a really strange vibe to it. I’m taking Law and Literature, Criminal Procedure, Secured Transactions, and Business Associations. With no business background, both BA and Secured seem a little daunting to me.  Ok, actually, I’m very much out of my element and that’s a little unnerving for me, but I’ve got faith that my professors will bring it down to a level that I can grasp. I’ll definitely have to stay on top of this stuff.  I do get to read several novels for my Law and Lit class, so hopefully that will balance out my brain drain on the other courses.

I’m excited that this semester puts me halfway done with school, but I’ve got mixed emotions because many of my entering class will start graduating this December. That makes me sad.  For now, it feels good to be back blogging.  This week’s been busy; I enjoyed this break to catch my breath.  I’m glad to be back at Texas Wesleyan Law!  Welcome back, everyone!

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on November 8, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

