Summer Winding Down…or the Calm Before the Storm

ORIGINALLY POSTED 8/4/10–Summer is nearly over and soon I’ll be back down the rabbit hole.  I have mixed emotions over this realization.   Law school and I have a mysterious love-hate relationship because even though for the most part I really enjoy my studies, it is by far the most demanding and life-draining experience I have ever known.  No matter how much love you have for your future profession, at some point you just want to get done with school and recover some semblance of control over your life again.

My internship ends next Friday and the other interns are leaving this week; it’s kind of sad.  I’ve spent the last 11 weeks with these folks and we’ve gotten to be good friends. Both Will and Angela will be done in time to take the February bar and my stomach knots up just thinking about that. I’ll be nervous for them, but they will do great.  I’m sure our paths will cross again, but it’ll never be like it was this summer…we had joy, we had fun, we had seasons in the sun.  Sort of. Anyway, Angela and Will, I’ll miss you both and wish you well your last semester/quarter of law school.

Meanwhile, there are a couple of social events on the calendar the rest of this week. Today we interns are getting taken out to lunch.  We’re excited about actually taking lunch since we often worked right through on most days. Then, this evening the Law Department is hosting a gathering after work which promises to be fun.  I brought my camera and plan to take lots of pictures just to remember all the cool people I met this summer. Tomorrow, we’re attending a reception at a local environmental law firm with one of the Assistant City Attorneys which will give us more exposure to the legal community.

In all, I’ve grown to like the comforting automated voice in the elevator that welcomes me daily into City Hall, “Going up!”  It reminds me that, yes, I am going up and with each day I’m just a bit closer to the prize.

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on November 8, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

