Balance, Grasshopper

ORIGINALLY POSTED 9/22/10–Things seem to have finally settled down. Yesterday, I took my son to the craft store for items to make a science model. I’ve noticed that the more analytical I am with my brain, the more I want to paint or cook or make a Christmas wreath. It’s like my mind is trying to keep me balanced:  analytical and creative. In the store I was mesmerized with the stuff to make football mums, but we came home and made the model instead. Then I threw together a crockpot breakfast casserole (it cooked all night and breakfast was awesome this morning, yum!!) and then read for class. I didn’t get to bed until close to 1 am, which seems to be the standard time for me this semester. Yeah…I’m not too sure how long I’ll be able to keep that up!

Last week I interviewed for an internship at a local firm. I started talking to the receptionist only to find out that she wants to go to law school AND she reads my blog! (Hi, Jessica!!!) That was a cool, yet very odd thing to find out right before going into an interview. Immediately I wondered if I wrote anything that might come back to haunt me in my interview, but then I relaxed and remembered that one of my favorite things about blogging is how honest I get to be. So, I figured that if someone reads my blog they likely get a good sense of who I am and I’m just fine with that.

I spent last weekend working on an abstract and source list for my Law & Lit. paper. Turns out, combining these two disciplines is pretty challenging and I’m kind of fumbling around trying to retain my legal writing and infuse a little liberal arts. I did get to use my ol’ Bluebook which was fun.  I used to love doing the citations we did in 1L legal writing, that kind of methodical, detail-oriented work is very relaxing to me. Sometimes you need that kind of auto-pilot work to give the noodle a little breather!

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on November 8, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

