The Wonderful World of Government Internships

ORIGINALLY POSTED 6/16/10 – In our last episode I thought my blogging was done, but not so! I’ve been asked to share, “What I Did on My Summer Vacation: Law School Style.”

Thus far my internship with the City of Austin has been great! Working in municipal government is not unlike my last job at the UT System. Both entities are involved in so many different projects that there are countless legal areas to explore. The wonderful thing about this internship is that I don’t have to settle in one spot; in fact, they encourage us to investigate as many areas as possible. I feel like I’ve been given a Golden Ticket and Willy Wonka just opened the door to the factory!

Week one I attended my first City Council meeting and that was eye-opening. Austin sure has a segment of vocal people with all manner of concerns that they want heard. Often, issues that come up in meetings turn into questions for the law department.

Week two I went to court and heard a motion on a demolition permit. I also watched a Med-Mal case and a Negligence claim. I saw several attorneys with different court room argument styles, some of which I liked more than others.

We met at Austin Police Headquarters last week to attend the Chief’s Monday briefing. We toured the old jail and the various investigatory divisions from financial crimes to homicide. I also took my picture with the Chief which was awesome! In between all this I’ve written several memos and put my trusty Blue Book and legal research skills into practice on attorney-client issues, waiver, statutory construction, and legislative intent.

This week we’ve toured Austin’s Water Treatment and Waste Water plants. I’m impressed with the process and how clean our water is here. Generally I’m amazed that lawyers are needed for such varied legal services; who knew? Add to that all the employment issues that surface in any large entity and it’s no wonder this place is jumping. Speaking of, I’ve got to get jumping myself—we’re off to tour the Federal and District Courthouses!

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on October 4, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

