Summer…Slower, But Not Slow

ORIGINALLY POSTED 6/30/10–Summer is almost half over and I’m just getting started. I know the end is fast approaching because I’m scheduling appointments for the days leading up to school and those first few weeks back. Seriously?! Plans for September?! Normally, my type-A personality would rejoice knowing so far in advance where to be and what to do. BUT…as my calendar fills up the weight of my third year in law school, and still having another year after that, makes me weary. I can’t think of it just yet. Although…

I got online this weekend to search for text book deals. I found about half of what I needed and got them for WAY less than retail. It’s sick to pay upwards of $100 for a book that you will use for about 4 months and then sell back for $15. As a result, early book hunting is essential. Don’t think your classmates aren’t wheelin’ and dealin’ trying to get the best price. They are, we are…you will too.

It occurs to me that I didn’t say anything about grades posting last time and so I should probably wrap up last semester before moving too much further on. So, I was pleased with my performance. I definitely learned that it pays to stay on task consistently. I had to grit my teeth all semester long to keep focused when I was going stir crazy, but now I’m so happy that I did. I decided not to not take 1st Amendment as pass/fail and wondered later if I’d regret that choice. Ultimately, I worked really hard in that class and so getting the grade was all the more rewarding. Also, after the challenge of ConLaw, I had something to prove to myself.

Life at home with “just” work is a nice change. The boys and I went swimming on Saturday and I got my first summer sunburn. It was so relaxing floating in the cool water with just my nose and toes sticking out. July 4th is this weekend and Megan’s coming to visit!  Not so fast, summer.  Linger just a little longer….

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on October 4, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

