Get Me Off this Ride

ORIGINALLY POSTED 4/21/10–The last time I wanted to ride a roller coaster I was maybe 9 years old. It was the ol’ Texas Cyclone at Astroworld and at that time it was the highest wooden roller coaster in the universe…or something like that. Anyway, riding it was a great idea right up until we hit that first huge drop—since then I’ve never liked roller coasters and after last week my position has not changed.

Things were crazy mostly because I was in financial aid crisis mode. It’s an ironic thing that at the point in the semester where you have the least amount of mental energy to spare these issues surface. It’s tough to go from a full time job to part-time law school and a quarter of your former income, if that. Thankfully, the good people in Financial Aid and in the Business Office made sure I got some additional funds AND that I didn’t have to wait long for the check. I had heartburn for awhile, but in the end dodged yet another bullet. So thanks, Doug and Sherry. Also, I have to thank my friends Letty and Jonathan for sympathizing during my financial aid meltdown…ok, meltdowns…there were a few. And a special heart-felt thanks to Mike for being a God-send.

Well, that was the down side of the roller coaster, but then I caught an upswing. I finally got a call from the third of my potential summer internships. They already knew I had accepted an offer but they wanted me to interview anyway and maybe they could offer me more to go with them. That made me feel really good; however, I politely declined since I’ve already committed to the City of Austin. The recruiter was gracious and promised to contact me early next semester to remind me to re-interview.

That same day I was offered the position of State Bar of Texas Law Student Division Junior Representative for Texas Wesleyan, which I accepted. I’m looking forward to the opportunities this will provide for me to plug into the legal community outside the law school and in particular back home in Austin.

I had the first part of my CivPro final tonight and I think I only missed one! Afterwards, Martha, Karla and I completed our Discovery Group Project which is due Monday. There are a few more things that fell into place since last blog, but it’ll have to wait, it’s been a really long day.  Nite!

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on October 4, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

