Farewell, Spring!

ORIGINALLY POSTED 5/19/10–For the last few weeks there was tension in the air punctuated by swells of panic as test after test came and went. Then…the day after, in the same hallways and in the library, there was peace. I realized at that moment that I really love this place and I’m glad to be on this journey.

I’d like to thank the Academy for the privilege of this honor, but it had nothing to do with me being here. Instead, plenty of others did, so here goes: My thanks and gratitude go to Dean Hurst, Emily and Lori in Admissions. I’ve so enjoyed being a Texas Wesleyan blogger and student ambassador. Thanks first for giving me the opportunity to prove that I belong here and second, for letting me share my experiences with anyone who would listen.

My admiration and respect go to Dean Short who is not only a fabulous Property professor, but a wonderful person. I spent lots of time in his office this year and always found him to be insightful, professional, honest and pretty darn funny. Thanks for keeping an open door and inspiring me to work harder in my classes.

To my friends: thanks for sharing your thoughts, arguments and opinions—you made me think and redefine my own perspective which helped me grow. In particular to Jonathan, my Westlaw partner and one of my best friends: Thanks for constantly being someone I could count on and for making me laugh when I wanted to cry. You are one cool guy!  Also, to Megan for demonstrating how to live a life of conviction; it’s rare to find someone who always strives to do the right thing even when it’s difficult. There should be more people like you.

For now, I begin my internship on Monday and am looking forward to all that the opportunity has to offer. I’ve got a stack of books to read, an entire season of House M.D. to catch up on, baseball games to attend and evening sunsets to see from my deck.  Yeah, I love law school but this summer break is very much welcome. It will be nice to plug back into the real world…for now.   Have a blessed and safe summer!

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on October 4, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

