Click!

ORIGINALLY POSTED 3/10/10–I wish I had a DVR remote control for life. This weekend my family drove me nuts and I suspect they have been snatched and turned into vicious Time Suckers—I’d like to put them all on mute and pause.

I stayed up late Friday studying knowing my oldest son had dress rehearsal for UIL band competition on Saturday. I took my book to read while at the band hall and that worked well, so I decided to treat the family to a movie and then get back to outlining. I managed to enjoy the show, but getting home and trying to study proved next-to-impossible with this group. Even though I closed myself off in the bedroom the dog ran in, the kids were back and forth, and the other parent in the house was tired (8:30 pm) and wanted to go to sleep. Huh? Can’t you see all my stuff set out, my computer on and the fact that I spent most of today doing stuff with and for y’all??? UGH!!! So frustrating.

Well… there I went, moving all my stuff and changing venue to the COMPLETE other side of the house. Sometimes these guys really don’t get it; few who aren’t in law school do get it. As the first person in my family to go to college, the concept of law school is so remote that I might as well be learning Greek. As frustrating as this is for me, it must be just as, or more, for them. Mom can’t just drop everything and go to the park, watch TV, or whatever. And when I say I need to study, guess what? I really do. Seriously.

I have tons to do this week so that by Wednesday of Spring Break I can meet my goal of having all my outlines up to date. Then I plan to have some fun for two days on a girls’ road trip. Wish me luck! Speaking of…15 minutes after submitting my last blog, I got an email offer for a PAID, full-summer internship with the City of Austin. Happy dance!

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on October 4, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

