Where Did the Summer Go?

ORIGINALLY POSTED 7/28/10–You ever have one of those days where you start all kinds of projects but never complete any? That’s been my summer and though it’s winding down my “to do” list keeps growing. Let’s face it, my goal to finish reading all five of my Law & Lit. novels before school starts isn’t happening. I had good intentions, but it always felt “too early” to start worrying about next semester’s reading. Instead I wanted to focus on all that was going on real-time: I took my kids running, hung out at the pool, spent time with family, had friends over for dinner and just enjoyed life. It was well worth it.

Back at work I’ve had a busy couple of weeks with several assignments pending. Soon I’ll no longer be an intern and I’m sad about that. My co-interns (now officially my friends) and I often talk about how great the experience has been. The City did a great job matching us up. We learned a lot from the work, but also from each other. It helps too that we all have such outgoing personalities and were ready for anything. Most days we took at least twenty minutes in the afternoon to clear our heads and laugh until our faces hurt. Good times.

As an update, I’m still looking for an attorney for my aunt who was hit by a car in Nov. I’ve done some leg work getting her documents together and organizing them for an attorney to review. We’ve got a two year statute of limitations, which unfortunately, is not long enough for me to finish school and do this myself. She’s got over $6000 worth of medical bills that she shouldn’t have to pay, so I’ve got to keep pushing for her.

Good news: My best friend Letty and her family are back from Guam and now stationed in Texas. She’s closing on a house in Schertz tomorrow and we’ll get to see each other all the time. I’ve done without her for a couple of years now, so it’s good to have my sister home.

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on October 4, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

