Hurry Up and Wait….

ORIGINALLY POSTED 2/24/10–The middle of the spring semester is a really weird time. There are so many things on the horizon: summer school (yes or no?), internship or job, spring break (catch up or relax?)—I feel like I’m in a perpetual state of “wait.” Except for classes that continue pressing forward daily, it’s a challenge to stay in the moment.

Last week I was offered an unpaid 6 week summer internship and I’m excited about that. I know you’re thinking, “excited” about working for free? While the internship is unpaid there are available avenues to get stipends. This weekend I’ll be working on my Fellowship application which is one way students can get funds for taking non-paid public interest jobs. So, what’s “exciting” about the offer is the opportunity be named as a Fellow and to learn about another area of the law in a new setting.

I also went on a second interview for another internship and got to meet all the attorneys in that office. As it turns out, I knew a couple of them in my life before law school which was a welcome surprise. I’d be happy with either placement so I’m hoping the dust will settle soon and things will start falling into place.

I was totally caught up outlining Property on Friday which lasted until Monday; now there’s more. I’m also trudging along in my other classes and treading water successfully. My CivPro professor has assigned a project to accompany our study of discovery. We’re in groups and have a fictional case for which we have to draft two forms of discovery. I know 1Ls didn’t do this last year, but I think it’s a great idea and will give us a chance to apply the things we’re learning in class.

This is Day 2 of the February bar exam; I’ve been thinking about and praying for my friends who are in the middle of the storm. The whole Texas Wesleyan Law community is pulling for our grads–best of luck to all of you! Make us proud!

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on October 2, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

