Team Effort

ORIGINALLY POSTED 9/16/09–It’s a month into the semester and I’m cautiously optimistic.  I’m not yet comfortable saying that 2L year is “easy” compared to 1L, but it is different.  I think it’s dangerous to think that you’ve got it all under control; to do so fosters a false sense of security and makes it oh-so-easy to start slacking.  Then, like a sneaky undertow in the ocean, finals arrive and you realize that you are drowning in work that has to be done.

I did a mental check this week and feel satisfied with where I am in all my classes.  There are a couple that admittedly need a bit more attention from me, but overall I’m keeping up and don’t feel that sense of panic I felt last year.  I think this comes from putting some of my 1L study skills into practice early in this semester.  Reading cases and picking out essential elements is easier; however, I find it’s still necessary to brief cases and outline my courses.   While there’s still plenty of work, I get more done in less time.

There’s always other stuff to take up that extra time though.  Lately, there’s been a lot of buzz among my classmates about how their families are coping with the time demand that law school requires.  Everyone’s family is fine with law school in theory, but reality can be quite a shock.  It’s not for the weak or faint-hearted. I’ve seen some of my classmates in tears because of a family blow up or sick kids and I’ve listened to their frustration as they struggle to meet so many obligations within a finite amount of time. Law school is by definition a community of over-achievers; it’s hard to find yourself in a situation where you can’t do it all yourself.  Consequently, this experience, more than any other that I’ve known, requires unwavering familial support and understanding.  To all my friends that have been having a rough time of things, know that “This too shall pass”—we’re all in this together.  Thanks to my family for (mostly) holding down the fort.

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on September 30, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

