In the Beginning….

ORIGINALLY POSTED 9/29/09–While waiting for my admissions decision I discovered the 1L blogs and got my first real sense of the Texas Wesleyan Law community.  Now, as a 2L I’ve been invited to blog and am very excited about the opportunity.

First, some background: I live in Austin.  Yes, “live” as in present tense.  My home and family are in Austin, so twice weekly (sometimes, weakly) I commute round trip to school in Fort Worth.  I’ve been lucky enough to keep a four-day schedule for the last three semesters.  I know, it’s crazy, I hear it all the time and yes, it is; but I have two sons (ten and twelve) and it’s important that they see me everyday—even if it’s for 15 minutes in the morning before I head off to school.  On Tuesday and Thursday, I’m home in time to pick them up from school AND manage to do so in compliance with all traffic laws!

I’ve worked in various legal settings, but for the last seven years before Wesleyan I was the Public Information Coordinator (PIC) for the University of Texas System.  As the PIC I wrote hundreds of legal briefs to the Texas Attorney General.  This intensive writing background was a very handy skill to bring into law school and greatly helped me with my 1L legal writing class.  Not that it was any easier, but more that it was a less unfamiliar concept.

My goal in this blog is to share my thoughts and insights about this wonderful law school experience.  I am so blessed to have this opportunity because a law degree is a great thing, even if you never want to practice law.  However, for those like me who have spent large chunks of time around lawyers and the law, there is a certain comfort in finding your niche.  I know this is what I want to do and every day, every case I read, and every piece of the puzzle that falls into place I am closer to the finish line. I hope you will enjoy the ride as much as I do.

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on September 30, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

