Illicit Movie Watching and Other Wasted Time

ORIGINALLY POSTED 10/28/09–I feel like this week’s blog is a classic example of conflicting law. Last time I wrote about using time productively. Today, I must confess that lately I’ve been less than productive with my time. Now that I’ve painted myself into a corner, like a good law student I’m back to my original premise looking for a loophole: What exactly did I mean by “productive?”

I guess realistically there comes a point where you hit a wall. It can happen many times throughout the day, a week, or a semester. Monday and Wednesday are such long days for me. By the time I sit down in the evening to read for my next day’s class, I have a small window of time before the law of diminishing returns kicks in. Pushing past that wall will cost me more in the way of sleep and added exhaustion, than I gain in useful study.

Then there’s the wall you hit when you’ve been studying diligently for months and you suddenly feel so burnt out that everything’s a distraction. Yesterday my friends, Karla and Martha, and I gave in. We had two cancelled classes, a cold front blew in and it was a dreary, rainy day so we decided to have lunch away from campus. Then, that turned into “We should go to the movies.” After the movie, I “needed” hot chocolate and of all the random things, Karla wanted “birthday cake.” Hours later we were back at school with books laid out regretting our time away. We’ve not yet forgotten how hard we worked to get into law school and we actually felt guilty thinking about all those that would love the opportunity to be where we are. It’s like you’re letting down a whole bunch of people, even those you don’t know, when you waste one second of this experience. In the end we decided that there were worse things we could have done and that sometimes you just have to give yourself a breather so that you can come back stronger than ever. After all, tomorrow’s another day.

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on September 30, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

