“Free” Time? What’s That?

ORIGINALLY POSTED 10/14/09–I love fall. Unfortunately, college football (Hook ‘em Horns!!) and baseball games (Go Yankees!!) every weekend are a major distraction for me. Luckily my trusty planner helps me make the most of every day. During the semester I live by my calendar because with so many competing interests for my time, planning is vital. As I’m typing this I’m sitting in my car in the parking lot waiting to pick up my son from school. I’ve spent all day in the library and in the 15 minutes before the bell rings, I think I can get this blog done. That’s the way it is; any block of time, no matter how small can be productive. And really, once you get into your studies, it’s almost weird if there’s “nothing” to do.

For example, last week was Teddy Bear Immunity week. One of our student organizations held its annual teddy bear sale to collect money for charity. Students buy the bears and turn them in for “immunity,” i.e. participating professors promise not to call on those with bears. I participated in two classes: Property and Constitutional Law. I didn’t really need or want a pass in Property, but Prof. Short opted to give the whole class immunity if he got a certain number of bears, so I did my part. ConLaw…well, that was all for me. I really love my ConLaw class and Prof. Rambo is just awesome, but wow that reading is so dense it takes a lot out of me. Even when I think I’m well read for class, Prof. Rambo can squeeze out nuances that just never occurred to me. All day Wednesday I anticipated going home and having no ConLaw reading. I looked forward to retiring before midnight. I was in bed by 9:30 but unable to unwind with this nagging feeling that I left something undone. Even knowing I had my immunity bear safe in my briefcase, I couldn’t relax and enjoy my well-earned sleep. Bummer. If I’d had my book, I’d have just gone ahead and read. I clearly can’t do “nothing”—it’s just way too stressful!

About LegalTrenches

I graduated law school in May 2012 and have been blogging about my experience as a non-traditional student since my 2L year. I live over 200 miles from my law school and so I commuted two round trips a week from the beginning. I put almost 1000 miles a week on my car. Law school is crazy. It's even crazier as a non-traditional commuter student, but I wouldn't have had it any other way! I blogged my way through bar prep and sat for the July 2012 Texas Bar exam. Hopefully some of my experiences will help out those taking the bar exam after me. On Nov. 1, 2012, I received my bar results and became an officially licensed Texas lawyer! Follow me as I transition into the legal world as a brand new baby lawyer. I'll try to keep it light and promise to keep it real.

Posted on September 30, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

